'The Prom' Composer Matthew Sklar Wins Frederick Loewe Award

30th Annual GLAAD Media Awards New York – Arrivals

Tony-nominated The Prom composer Matthew Sklar will receive the Frederick Loewe Award for Dramatic Composition, presented by the Dramatists Guild of America, for his outstanding contribution to the 2018–2019 Broadway season.

The Frederick Loewe Award, given by the Frederick Loewe Foundation and presented annually by the Dramatists Guild Council to a composer, recognizes achievement in a theatrical score presented in New York during the previous theatrical season.

Previous winner include David Yazbek, Benj Pasek and Justin Paul, Jeanine Tesori, Amanda Green, Alan Menken, Michael John LaChiusa, Robert Lopez, John Kander, Tom Kitt, and Lin-Manuel Miranda.

Photo: Matthew Sklar (right) Credit: Getty