Robyn Hurder, Alex Brightman, and More Lead Broadway Bound 'Smash' Workshop

The Broadway bound production of Smash inspired by the NBC television series of the same name, is slated for Broadway in the 2024-25 season. A star studded cast and crew will gather for six weeks starting this month to mount a fully staged and choreographed workshop with five performances for recruited audiences.

Under Susan Stroman's direction, the workshop cast includes Brooks Ashmanskas, Alex Brightman, Yvette Nicole Brown, Bella Coppola, newcomer Nihar Duvvuri, Casey Garvin, Robyn Hurder, Kristine Nielsen, Krysta Rodriguez and Jonalyn Saxer.

The full company includes Wendi Bergamini, Giovanni Bonaventura, Jim Borstelmann, Zachary Downer, Tiffany Engen, Ashley Blair Fitzgerald, Megan Kane, Caleb Marshall-Villarreal, Connor McRory, JJ Niemann, Tanairi Sade Vazquez, Brian Shepard, Sarah Sigman, Jake Trammel and Katie Webber.

Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman, who wrote songs for the series, also handle the score for the “Smash” musical, which will feature tunes from the TV show as well as new material. Book writers are Bob Martin and Rick Elice. The musical is produced by Steven Spielberg, Robert Greenblatt and Neil Meron.