‘KPOP’ Will Play Final Broadway Performance On December 11th

Photo: Evan Zimmerman

Today, the producers of KPOP announced that the groundbreaking new musical will have its final Broadway performance on Sunday, December 11 at Circle in the Square Theatre. The final performance will be host to a special Asian American and Pacific Islanders (AAPI) Community Event and panel discussion to celebrate and reflect on AAPI representation on Broadway and beyond. KPOP will have played 44 preview performances and 17 regular performances.  

200 complimentary tickets are being offered to AAPI community members and youth for the final performance, followed by a panel discussion with top AAPI theatre artists. Panelists will include the first Asian American playwright to win a Tony Award,David Henry Hwang; the first Asian female composer in Broadway history, KPOP’s Helen Park; Korean playwright Hansol Jung; and actor Pun Bandhu. This performance is supported by TAAF (The Asian American Foundation) in collaboration with Gold HouseAAPAC (Asian American Performers Action Coalition), and Ma-Yi Theater Company.KPOP is making history by being the first Broadway production to feature Korean stories written by Korean American creatives, along with 18 cast members, all of AAPI descent, making their Broadway debuts.

Tickets for the matinee performance and panel discussion - open to all - are available at www.telecharge.com or Circle in the Square Theatre Box Office starting at $49.50.

KPOP is directed by Teddy Bergman; book by Jason Kim; music, lyrics, music production and arrangements by Helen Park; music and lyrics by Max Vernon; and choreography by Jennifer Weber

The production stars Luna, Julia AbuevaBoHyung, Major CurdaJinwoo JungJiho KangAmy KeumJames KhoMarina Kondo, Eddy LeeJoshua Lee, Jully LeeLina Rose LeeTimothy H. LeeAbraham LimMin, Kate Mina LinAubie MerryleesPatrick ParkZachary Noah Piser, Kevin Woo, and John Yi

KPOP – Original Broadway Cast Recording will be released on February 24, 2023 via Sony Masterworks Broadway, and is available for preorder HERE. The recording is produced by Harvey Mason jr.

KPOP is produced by Tim Forbes, Joey Parnes, Jay Alix & Una Jackman, Hunter Arnold, Kayla Greenspan, Ad Hoc Live Entertainment, Sony Music Masterworks, James L. Nederlander, John Gore Organization, Ira Pittelman, Salman Al-Rashid, Gideon Friedman, Dodge Hall Productions & Courage the Producer, Jamie deRoy & Dawn Smalberg, Eric Falkenstein, Suzanne Grant, John Paterakis, Susan Vargo, Miranda Gohh and Hui-Dress and was conceived by Woodshed Collective and Jason Kim. Music Direction by Sujin Kim-Ramsey, Scenic Design by Gabriel Hainer Evansohn, Costume Design by Clint RamosSophia Choi, Lighting Design by Jiyoun Chang, Sound Design by Peter FitzgeraldAndrew Keister, Projection Design by Peter Nigrini, Hair & Wig Design by Mia M. Neal, Makeup Design by Joe Dulude IISuki Tsujimoto, Casting by Tara Rubin Casting and the Production Stage Manager is