2022 Drama League Award Winners Announced

The Drama League have announced the winners of the 88TH Annual Drama League Awards, honoring achievements on and Off-Broadway in the 2021-22 season, celebrated in a ceremony today at the Ziegfeld Ballroom

In a presentation hosted by Emmy Award-winning journalist Frank DiLella, the Drama League Award-winning stage icon Patti LuPone presented the coveted career-achievement honor of the Distinguished Performance Award to Music Man star Sutton Foster. The Drama League’s inaugural prizes for Outstanding Director—established this season in line with organization’s mission to support directors at every stage of their careers—were presented by Encores! Into The Woods director Lear deBessonet to winners Marianne Elliott, for Outstanding Director of a Musical for Company, and Kate Whoriskey, for Outstanding Director of a Play for Clyde’s

Winning the award for Outstanding Production of a Play is the The Lehman Trilogy, and A Strange Loop is awarded Outstanding Production of a Musical. Earning the revival prizes are the Broadway productions of Take Me Out for Outstanding Revival of a Play, and Company for Outstanding Revival of a Musical.  

The 2022 Special Recognition Award Recipients honored at the Drama League Awards ceremony were: Tony® Award winner Hugh Jackman, recipient of the Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theater Award, presented by his Music Man co-star Sutton Foster; director Lileana Blain-Cruz, honored with the Founders Award for Excellence in Directing, presented by Drama League-nominated The Skin of Our Teeth star Gabby Beans; Tony® Award winner Billy Crystal, presented with the Contribution to the Theater Award, by his Drama League-nominated Mr. Saturday Night co-star Shoshana Bean; and Tony® Award winner Willette Murphy Klausner, who received the Gratitude Award, presented by Tony Award winner Ben Vereen..   

The Drama League Awards Event Chair is Bonnie Comley, The Steering Committee is Co-Chaired by Kirk Iwanowski and Mary Jain and includes Donna Daniels, Irene Gandy, Sarah Hutton, Una Jackman, Paula Kaminsky Davis, Joseph Pizza, Townsend Teague, and Kumiko Yoshii. 

First awarded in 1922 and formalized in 1935, The Drama League Awards are the oldest theatrical honors in America. They are the only major theater awards chosen by a cross-section of the theater community — the industry professionals, producers, artists, audiences, and critics who are Drama League members nationwide. Membership is open to everyone; for more information about membership or The Drama League Awards, please call (212) 244-9494 x101 or visit www.dramaleague.org.   


Outstanding Production of a Play - The Lehman Trilogy 

Outstanding Revival of a Play - Take Me Out 

Outstanding Production of a Musical - A Strange Loop 

Outstanding Revival of a Musical - Company 

Outstanding Director of a Play - Kate Whoriskey, Clyde's 

Outstanding Director of a Musical - Marianne Elliott, Company 

Distinguished Performance Award - Sutton Foster  


Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theatre – Hugh Jackman 

Founders Award for Excellence in Directing – Lileana Blain-Cruz 

Contribution to the Theater – Billy Crystal 

The Gratitude Award – Willette Murphy Klausner