Eric Anderson To Replace Danny Burstein In 'Moulin Rouge!' Next Month

The Broadway company of the Tony Award-winning Best Musical Moulin Rouge! The Musical will welcome Eric Anderson in the role of club impresario Harold Zidler beginning Tuesday, January 18, 2022, at the Al Hirschfeld Theatre. Danny Burstein, who earned a Tony Award, an Outer Critics Circle Awards honor and the Drama League Award for Distinguished Performance for originating the role of Zidler, plays his final performance on Sunday, January 16, 2022.

Eric Anderson has appeared on Broadway in the original casts of Kinky Boots, Rocky, The Last Ship, SoulDoctor (Drama Desk nomination), Pretty Woman, and Waitress, most recently reprising his portrayal of Cal in the post-shutdown revival. His film and TV credits include The Greatest Showman, “Elementary,” “The Good Wife,” “Law & Order: Criminal Intent,” “Alias,” and “Live From Lincoln Center: South Pacific.”

Moulin Rouge! The Musical is the winner of ten 2021 Tony Awards including Best Musical, two Drama League Awards including Outstanding Production of a Musical, five Drama Desk Awards and ten Outer Critics Circle Award Honor citations including New Broadway Musical.

Moulin Rouge! The Musical opened to critical acclaim at the Al Hirschfeld Theatre in the Summer of 2019 and reopened in September 2021 following the shutdown of Broadway due to the pandemic.

Moulin Rouge! The Musical is directed by Tony Award winner Alex Timbers and with a book by Tony Award winner JohnLogan, choreography by Tony Award winner Sonya Tayeh and music supervision, orchestrations and arrangements by Tony Award winner Justin Levine.

The design team for Moulin Rouge! The Musical includes Tony Award winner Derek McLane (sets), Tony Award winner Catherine Zuber (costumes), Tony Award winner Justin Townsend (lighting), Tony Award winner Peter Hylenski (sound), Drama Desk Award winner David Brian Brown (wig and hair design), Sarah Cimino (Make-up design) and Tony Award winner Matt Stine (Music Producer). Casting is by Jim Carnahan and Stephen Kopel.

The cast is led by Natalie Mendoza as Satine, Tony Award winner Aaron Tveit as Christian, Tony Award winner DannyBurstein as Harold Zidler, Tony and Olivier Award nominee Sahr Ngaujah as Toulouse-Lautrec, Tam Mutu as The Duke of Monroth, Ricky Rojas as Santiago and Tony Award nominee Robyn Hurder as Nini. Ashley Loren is the Satine Alternate. The cast includes Jacqueline B. Arnold, Holly James, Jeigh Madjus, Joe Beauregard, Keely Beirne, Giovanni Bonaventura, Olutayo Bosede, Maya Bowles, Kyle Brown, Sam J. Cahn, Raúl Contreras, Bobby Daye, Mia DeWeese, Karli Dinardo, Tilly Evans-Krueger, Aaron C. Finley, Bahiyah Hibah, Cameron Mitchell Jackson, Tasia Jungbauer, Jose-Luis Lopez Jr., Reed Luplau, Kara Menendez, Kaitlin Mesh, Fred Odgaard, Dylan Paul, Khori Michelle Petinaud, Benjamin Rivera,Julius Anthony Rubio, Travis Ward-Osborne, Brandon Stonestreet and Ericka Hunter Yang