Leslie Uggams, Alan Menken & More Among New Theatre Hall Of Fame Inductees

The Theatre Hall Of Fame has announced the 2021 inductees: actor Leslie Uggams, set designer Bob Crowley, playwright Lynn Nottage, actor-playwright Anna Deavere Smith, and posthumously director Gerald Freedman. The induction ceremony for the 50th anniversary Theatre Hall of Fame for Lifetime Achievement in Theatre will take place on November 15th at the Gershwin Theatre.

The Theatre Hall of Fame was founded by James M. Nederlander, Earl Blackwell and Gerald Oestreicher in 1971. To be eligible for induction in to the Theatre Hall of Fame, a theatre professional must have at least 25 years in the Broadway theatre industry, five major productions and/or be among the leaders of the Off-Broadway or regional theatre communities.

Photo: Getty Image