Full Creative Team And Casting For 'MJ' The Musical Is Here

The official Broadway cast and creative team for the upcoming World Premiere of MJ the musical is here! Preview performances begin on Monday, July 6, with Opening Night set for Thursday, August 13 at 6:30 at the Neil Simon Theatre.

The creative team will feature Scenic Design by Tony and two-time Emmy Award winner Derek McLane, Lighting Design by six-time Tony Award winner Natasha Katz, Costume Design by Tony and Emmy Award winner Paul Tazewell, Sound Design by two-time Tony Award nominee Gareth Owen, Projection Design by two-time Tony Award nominee Peter Nigrini, and Hair & Wig Design by two-time Emmy Award nominee Charles LaPointe.

The previously announced cast features Ephraim Sykes as Michael Jackson, Grammy Award nominee Quentin Earl Darrington, Whitney Bashor, Gabriel Ruiz, Antoine L. Smith, Joey Sorge, Darius Barnes, Raymond Baynard, Coral Dolphin, John Edwards, Ayana George, Kali May Grinder, Apollo Levine, Ryan VanDenBoom, Lamont Walker II, Naomi C. Walley, and Zelig Williams.

MJ will feature a book by two-time Pulitzer Prize winner Lynn Nottage and a score made up of some of the best-loved, top-selling, and most iconic songs in recording history. Tony Award winner Christopher Wheeldon will direct and choreograph. 

Additional cast and creatives will be announced at a later date. For ticketing information go to MJTheMusical.com.

Photo: Getty