'American Utopia' Releases Original Cast Recording

Nonsuch Records has released an original cast recording of David Bryne's American Utopia following its critically acclaimed Broadway opening at Hudson Theatre on October 20.

American Utopia originally began as an album that received a Grammy nomination. The concert tour inspired the Broadway show.

David Byrne’s American Utopia features David Byrne with Jacquelene Acevedo, Gustavo Di Dalva, Daniel Freedman, Chris Giarmo, Tim Keiper, Tendayi Kuumba, Karl Mansfield, Mauro Refosco, Stéphane San Juan, Angie Swan, and Bobby Wooten III; DaviViera also performs on the album. The show’s design team includes Rob Sinclair (lighting) and Pete Keppler (sound). Karl Mansfield and Mauro Refosco are Musical Directors. Choreography and Musical Staging is by Annie-B Parson. Alex Timbers serves as Production Consultant.

Byrne will perform a song from David Byrne’s American Utopia on Jimmy Kimmel Live!during a special broadcast from the Brooklyn Academy of Music (BAM) tonight, October 22. Additionally, Byrne and the Broadway ensemble will be musical guests on the Tonight Show with Jimmy Fallon on November 19.

Check out the tracklist:

1. Here

2. I Know Sometimes a Man Is Wrong / Don’t Worry about the Government

3. Lazy

4. This Must Be the Place (Naïve Melody)

5. I Zimbra

6. Slippery People

7. I Should Watch TV

8. Everybody’s Coming to My House

9. Once in a Lifetime

10. Glass, Concrete & Stone

11. Toe Jam

12. Born under Punches (The Heat Goes On)

13. I Dance Like This

14. Bullet

15. Every Day Is a Miracle

16. Blind

17. Burning Down the House

18. Hell You Talmbout

19. One Fine Day

20. Road to Nowhere

*CD and digital bonus track: The Great Curve

The album is now available from the Nonesuch Store.