Find Station

The Broadway League's 2019 League Awards Honor Terrence McNally & More

The annual Broadway League Awards, honoring excellence and achievement for Touring Broadway, were announced during the Broadway League’s 2019 Spring Road Conference. First presented in 1992, the Broadway League Awards recognize the contributions of those who have displayed exemplary service to the Broadway industry and are considered innovators of their craft.

Distinguished Lifetime Service Award:

Terrence McNally

“Terrence McNally is a master dramatist whose long and prolific career shows no signs of abating. Smart, funny and wise, his works move seamlessly from plays to musicals and from dramas to comedies. He brings to the stage witty and heart-felt explorations of humanity’s deepest fears and joys in a way that has resonated with audiences in New York and across North America for more than half a century,” said Charlotte St. Martin, President of the Broadway League in the press release. “We are thrilled to present the award for Distinguished Lifetime Service to a brilliant author whose work has captured the American experience while continuing to entertain, provoke, and move generations of theatregoers."

League Award Recipients:

Josh Labelle, Ann Sheehan, Daniel Hahn, Gemma Mulvihill and Denny Daniello

Star of Touring Broadway Honorees:

Bremer Bank, Howard & Ro Jacobson and San Diego County Credit Union

Photo: Getty