Drama League Honors Kelli O'Hara, Alex Timbers, And Taylor Mac

Tony Award-winning actress Kelli O’Hara, Beetlejuice director Alex Timbers, and playwright Taylor Mac will be honored at the upcoming Drama League Awards. The Drama League Awards will celebrate the 2018-19 theater season of Broadway and off-Broadway productions on Friday, May 17, 2019 at the Marriott Marquis Times Square.

All three honorees will pick up their awards on May 17 along with the winners of the 5 competitive categories; Outstanding Production of a Play, Outstanding Production of a Musical, Outstanding Revival of a Play, Outstanding Revival of a Musical, and the highly coveted Distinguished Performance Award. Nominees for the five competitive categories will be announced on April 17th , 2019.

O'Hara will be honored with the Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theater Award. Some theater credits include:The Bridges of Madison County, South Pacific, her 2015 Tony-winning performance inThe King and I, and is currently starring in Broadway's Kiss Me Kate.

Timbers will be the recipient of the League’s Founders Award for Excellence in Directing. He is a two-time Tony Award-nominated director and writer whose credits include Peter and the Starcatcher, Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson and the upcoming Beetlejuice and Moulin Rouge!

Mac will be honored with the Unique Contribution to the Theater Award. Mac was a 2017 Pulitzer Prize finalist for drama forA 24-Decade History of Popular Music.

Photo: Getty